12:49 PM

Appointments, reappointments made to LSSM Board of Governors

The Missouri Bar Board of Governors appointed and reappointed several individuals to the Legal Services of Southern Missouri Board of Directors during its March 4, 2021, meeting. 

LSSM helps ensure low-income individuals and the elderly have equal access to justice by providing representation and offering advice in civil matters. 

The Missouri Bar Board of Governors appointed Raymond E. Williams, of West Plains, to the LSSM Board of Directors, filling a position that requires one lawyer who resides in Howell, Shannon, or Oregon counties. Williams, 2018-19 president of The Missouri Bar, will fill the vacancy of Newt Brill, who resigned. Williams’ term will end in 2024. 

“Legal Services of Southern Missouri serves a vital role in assisting citizens of Southern Missouri that cannot otherwise afford a lawyer,” Williams said. “I am honored to be selected as a member of their Board of Directors.” 

Owner of Williams Law Offices, L.L.C., Williams has provided pro bono and judicare representation to clients on behalf of LSSM. He received the Phillip S. Huffman Memorial Award for Volunteer Legal Services from LSSM in 2013. He graduated from the University of Missouri School of Law. 

Josephine “Jody” L. Stockard, of Republic, was appointed to the LSSM Board of Directors as a lawyer who resides in Greene, Barry, or Lawrence counties. She will fill the vacancy of Hon. Sue Chrisman, whose term expired. Stockard’s term will end in 2026. 

“LSSM attorneys and staff work to fill the gaps in accessibility to the legal system and their work is vital,” she said. “I am honored to support their work through service on the board, and I welcome the opportunity to learn more about the barriers that exist to the legal system in the varied area that LSSM serves.”  

Stockard currently works as an assistant U.S. attorney for the U.S. Attorney’s Office, Western District of Missouri. She graduated from the University of Missouri School of Law. 

Mary Eftink Boner, of Jackson, is the current vice president of LSSM and was reappointed for another term. Eftink Boner owns her own firm and graduated from the University of Missouri School of Law. 

“Serving on the Board of Directors for LSSM is very rewarding,” Eftink Boner said. “I am learning a lot and I get to work with a lot of wonderful people both on the board and the staff. I look forward to my next term.” 

The Missouri Bar Board of Governors also reappointed James T. Crump, of Rolla, who currently serves as LSSM’s president. Crump is a municipal judge for Rolla and works with Crump Law Offices. He graduated from Creighton University School of Law. 

Joseph Murray, of Farmington, currently serves as LSSM’s assistant treasurer and was reappointed for another term. He practices with Williams & Sechrest, P.C. and graduated from the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law. 

Learn more about how to apply for an appointment vacancy here