REMEMBER: Mandatory CLE hours due June 30
Mark your calendars! Missouri lawyers have until June 30 to complete their required continuing legal education hours.
How many CLE hours do I need to complete?
Under Rule 15, lawyers licensed to practice in Missouri must complete a total of 15 CLE hours within the compliance year, between July 1 and June 30 of the following year. Three of the 15 hours must be devoted to ethics topics, and one of the ethics hours must focus on diversity, inclusion, cultural competency, or elimination of bias.
Where can I get CLE credits?
The Missouri Bar has several programs that cover a wide array of topics – including CLE opportunities at the virtual Spring Committee Meetings May 2-6 and the hybrid MOSOLO Small Firm Conference June 9-11. Visit MoBarCLE.MoBar.org for a full list of in-person, virtual, and self-study programs. Lawyers can also receive CLE credit from speaking engagements and writing articles on legal topics that are published in professional journals, like the Journal of The Missouri Bar.
The Missouri Bar also sends important emails regarding CLE opportunities and MCLE requirement reminders, so remember to remove email filters on bar communications and have an updated email address on file to avoid missing vital information.
I completed my CLE hours. Now what?
Once lawyers have completed their CLE hours, they must file their annual minimum continuing legal education reports online by July 31 at MoBar.org/MCLEReporting. Reports are automatically submitted upon compliance, and this will be indicated by a green “Compliant” status and an auto-generated email confirming compliance for the reporting year. Lawyers who are not in compliance and have not filed their annual reports will see a red “Not Yet Compliant” status.
What do I do if I need more time to complete my CLE hours and file my report?
If lawyers need additional time to complete their CLE hours or file their annual MCLE reports, they can complete deficiency plans – available at MoBar.org/MCLEReporting. Lawyers may request deficiency plans beginning July 1, and they are only available until July 31.
Lawyers with deficiency plans have until Sept. 30 to obtain the required CLE hours and file their reports.
What happens if I don’t complete my CLE hours and file my report?
Lawyers who do not have deficiency plans, have not completed their CLE hours, and have not filed their annual MCLE reports by Aug. 31 will be assessed a $200 late fee. An additional $50 will be assessed at the end of each successive month in which compliance is not obtained.
The Missouri Bar will submit a list of lawyers who did not comply with Rule 15 to the Supreme Court of Missouri by March 1, 2022. Those lawyers will be automatically suspended from practicing law and are subject to an additional $100 suspension fee.
Where should I go for more information about my MCLE requirements?