14:57 PM

Get involved with The Missouri Bar Board of Governors

Board of Governors 2018

Serving on The Missouri Bar’s Board of Governors is a great way to get directly involved in the policy-making decisions of the organization. Board members are elected by fellow lawyers, and they represent their respective district for two years, beginning at the Annual Meeting.

The composition of the Board of Governors is defined in Supreme Court Rule 7.03 and provides for 45 members to represent Missouri lawyers. Forty are elected to represent Districts 1-15. Three are elected (one from each appellate court district) to represent diversity within the bar, such as age, race, gender, sexual orientation, disability and geography, as well as areas and types of practice. The final two members include the immediate past president and a representative of the Young Lawyers' Section of the bar. The board meets five times a year to conduct the business of The Missouri Bar and keep up-to-date on issues. Occasionally, special meetings may be called to address timely concerns.

If you are interested in seeking election to the Board of Governors, the first step is to complete and submit a nomination petition by June 20. This year, 21 seats will be up for election in the following districts (click on each district number to view the accompanying district map): 

  • District 1: Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Caldwell, Chariton, Clinton, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Holt, Linn, Livingston, Mercer, Nodaway, Putnam, Sullivan and Worth counties (one seat)
  • District 3: Bates, Carroll, Cass, Cooper, Henry, Johnson, Lafayette, Pettis, Ray, St. Clair and Salinecounties (one seat)
  • District 4: Cole County (one seat)
  • District 5: Barry, Barton, Cedar, Dade, Jasper, Lawrence, McDonald, Newton, Stone and Vernon counties (one seat)
  • District 6: Bates, Carroll, Cass, Cooper, Henry, Johnson, Lafayette, Pettis, Ray, St. Clair and Saline counties(one seat)
  • District 7: Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Dunklin, Jefferson, Madison, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Perry, Ripley, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, Scott, Stoddard and Washington (one seat)
  • District 8: Jackson (excluding Kansas City), Clay and Platte counties (one seat)
  • District 9: St. Louis County (two seats)
  • District 10: Greene County (one seat)
  • District 11: City of St. Louis (three seats)
  • District 12: City of Kansas City within Jackson County (three seats)
  • District 13: Carter, Crawford, Dent, Franklin, Gasconade, Howell, Iron, Maries, Oregon, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Shannon, Texas and Wayne counties (one seat)
  • District 14: St. Charles County (one seat)
  • District 15: Boone and Callaway (one seat)
  • Western District Appellate Court Diversity Seat (one seat)
  • Southern District Appellate Court Diversity Seat (one seat)

The candidate(s) with the highest number of votes are elected to serve on the board.

To appear on the ballot, candidates must first submit a District or Appellate District Board petition signed by a minimum of 10 Missouri Bar members who are in good standing, enrolled and entitled to vote in the respective district. It's important to note that Missouri Bar members are entitled to vote in the district that corresponds with their primary work address, rather than their personal residence. Supreme Court Rule 7.07 provides for the nominations and election of district members of the Board of Governors. 

For your convenience, board elections are conducted electronically. The Supreme Court of Missouri will send an email to all lawyers to the email address in their official member profile that will include notice of the elections, dates open for voting, the names and offices of all qualified candidates and the link to cast an electronic ballot.