14:25 PM

Lee J. Viorel selected for 2021 Roser Award for excellence in bankruptcy practice

Lee J. Viorel, a partner at Lowther Johnson in Springfield, has been selected for the 2021 Michael R. Roser Excellence in Bankruptcy Award.

The Bankruptcy Creditor-Debtor Rights Committee of The Missouri Bar gives the award to a lawyer who manifests the highest standard of excellence in bankruptcy practice, has contributed distinctively to the development and appreciation of bankruptcy law, and has made an outstanding contribution in the field of bankruptcy administration or practice.  

The award is named in honor of the late Michael R. Roser, a prominent Kansas City bankruptcy lawyer. The honoree is selected through a special subcommittee representing past recipients, various geographic areas of the state, and different practice sizes. 

A graduate of the University of Missouri School of Law, Viorel possesses more than 20 years of legal experience and focuses his practice primarily on creditor rights, commercial transactions, acquisitions and mergers, commercial litigation, and banking and bank regulations matters. He joined Lowther Johnson as a member in 2003. He is a skilled litigator and has a wealth of experience at both the trial and appellate level, including various bankruptcy courts throughout the U.S.

Viorel has contributed to the improvement of bankruptcy law and the continuing legal education of his colleagues in a number of ways, including serving as president of the Springfield Metropolitan Bar Association and its foundation and serving as chair of The Missouri Bar Bankruptcy Creditor-Debtor Rights Committee. He has also been a speaker at numerous Missouri Bar programs and co-authored a chapter in The Missouri Bar's "Bankruptcy Practice" deskbook. In addition, he served as a member of the attorney advisory group for the U.S. District Court, Western District of Missouri Bankruptcy Court.

The award will be presented at the Midwestern Bankruptcy Institute in Kansas City on Oct. 1, 2021.

Click here to learn more about The Missouri Bar’s annual awards.