Jefferson City,
08:54 AM

Missouri lawyers elect 2020-21 Board of Governors, YLS Council members

The lawyers of Missouri, voting in districts throughout the state, elected two new members to the 45-member Board of Governors of The Missouri Bar and retained 22 incumbents for new terms beginning this September. Members of the Board of Governors are elected to serve two-year terms. Newly elected members of the Board of Governors include:

  • District 1: John Spencer of St. Joseph
  • District 12: Scott Bethune of Kansas City

The following incumbent members of the Board of Governors were elected:

  • District 2: James McConnell of Shelbina
  • District 4: Jason Paulsmeyer of Jefferson City
  • District 5: Shelly Dreyer of Joplin
  • District 7: John Grimm of Cape Girardeau
  • District 8: Jason Rew of Blue Springs and Tricia Scaglia of Independence
  • District 9: Julia P. Lasater, Karen McCarthy and Joan Swartz and Robert E. Jones of St. Louis County
  • District 10: John Price of Springfield
  • District 11: Hon. Michael Colona, Megan Phillips and Hon. Jason Sengheiser of St. Louis City
  • District 12: Athena Dickson, Amanda Ketchum, Mira Mdvani, Tom Porto of Kansas City
  • District 13: Carl Ward of Washington
  • Eastern District Diversity Seat: Casey Wong of St. Louis

Missouri Bar President-Elect John Gunn of St. Louis and Vice President John Grimm of Cape Girardeau were automatically retained for another term as they are serving as elected officers of the bar.

Members of the state bar Young Lawyers’ Section (YLS) elected nine new members to that group’s governing council and and retained six council members. New members of the council include:

  • District 3: Whitney Fay and Kamillia Scott of Kansas City
  • District 6: Devon Marie Loerch of Jefferson City
  • District 8: Khris Johnson-Deloatch and Paige Sparks of St. Louis County
  • District 9: Ashley Moore and Cort VanOstran of St. Louis City
  • District 13: Jill Irvin of Jackson
  • District 14: Nicholas Jain of Kennett

Incumbents elected to another term on the Young Lawyers’ Section Council are:

  • District 3: Christopher Dandurand of Kansas City
  • District 7: Trisha McCulloch of St. Charles
  • District 9: Cara Stuckel of St. Louis City
  • District 10: Keegan Tinney of Joplin
  • District 11: Elizabeth Kiesewetter Fax of Springfield

Lauren Collins of St. Louis was automatically retained as she is serving as an elected officer of the section’s council.

The newly elected and returning members of both groups will take office at the conclusion of the 2020 Annual Meeting of The Missouri Bar, which takes place virtually Sept. 16-18.

The Missouri Bar is a statewide organization that is dedicated to improving the legal profession, the law and the administration of justice for all Missourians. Created in 1944 by order of the Supreme Court of Missouri, it serves all 30,000 of Missouri’s practicing lawyers. The Missouri Bar provides a wide range of services and resources to its members, as well as the media, educators and the citizens of Missouri. To learn more, visit and