08:00 AM

#MoBarNews September recap

The Missouri Bar elected a historic slate of officers on Sept. 14, and this month’s most admired articles focused on Suicide Prevention Month activities and recognizing award winners for the Smithson Spurgeon Awards. Here is a review of last month’s leading stories! 

2022-23 Missouri Bar leaders elected 

Lauren Tucker McCubbin, with Polsinelli in Kansas City, was elected as 2022-23 Missouri Bar president during the Sept. 14 Board of Governors meeting. Also elected to bar leadership roles were Megan Phillips as the new president-elect and Shelly Dryer as vice president.  

 “One of the things I love most about serving in leadership of The Missouri Bar is that together, we serve all our members.” Tucker McCubbin said. “We value each other’s unique contributions as we work toward our unified goal of helping Missouri lawyers even better serve their clients and communities, while also improving the profession, the law, and the administration of justice on behalf of all Missourians.” 

Read more about our new Missouri Bar leadership here.  

Help yourselves and others: Missouri Bar offers suicide prevention training, resources 

September was Suicide Prevention Awareness Month and recently the American Bar Association conducted a survey of lawyers and staff at firms – finding that one in five respondents had contemplated suicide at one point during their professional careers. 

 The Lawyers Living Well Special Committee arranged a free virtual CLE to explain how to both recognize and support fellow lawyers during a suicide crisis.  

Lawyers and law students, along with their families and friends, are also invited to join or support one of three lawyer-led teams participating in Out of the Darkness Walks across the state. One of the events took place Sept. 25 in St. Louis, and two more are slated for Oct. 1 in Kansas City and Oct. 16 in Columbia. Registration for the Columbia Out of Darkness Walk is still open. 

Gaitan, Henson, and Pratzel honored with 2022 Spurgeon Smithson Awards 

Hon. Fernando J. Gaitan Jr., Chuck Henson, and Alan D. Pratzel were named this year’s Spurgeon Smithson Award recipients for their contributions toward increasing the quality of justice. 

Established in 1976, the Spurgeon Smithson Awards recognize judges, law teachers, and/or lawyers who have provided outstanding services toward the increase and diffusion of justice. Read more about these awardees here.  

Most popular feature 

August’s most popular story was the monthly In Memoriam, where The Missouri Bar honors lawyers and judges who recently died. Click here to read the most recent In Memoriam. Submit a listing for an upcoming In Memoriam here

The Missouri Bar provides valuable information and resources through MoBar.org and MissouriLawyersHelp.org. To stay up to date with everything going on, follow The Missouri Bar on Facebook, LinkedIn, Instagram, and Twitter.