Remember: File your MCLE hours by July 31!
Lawyers who do not complete and file their MCLE hours by the end of this month may be assessed late fees
Missouri lawyers have until July 31 to file their minimum continuing legal education hours for the 2022-23 compliance year or else they risk being assessed late fees.
You can file your MCLE report online at MoBar.org/MCLEreporting. Reports are automatically submitted upon compliance, and this will be indicated by a green “Compliant” status on your account and an auto-generated email confirming compliance for the reporting year. If you are not in compliance and have not filed your annual report, you will see a red “Not Yet Compliant” status.
Under Rule 15, lawyers who are licensed to practice in Missouri had until June 30 to complete a total of 15 CLE hours within the 2022-23 compliance year – July 1, 2022, through June 30.
If you need more time to complete your CLE hours or file your annual MCLE report, you can submit a deficiency plan until July 31. Deficiency plans are available at MoBar.org/MCLEreporting. Lawyers with deficiency plans have until Sept. 30 to obtain and file their MCLE hours.
You will be assessed a $200 late fee if you do not obtain a deficiency plan, do not complete your CLE hours, and do not file your annual MCLE reports by Aug. 31. An additional $50 will be assessed at the end of each successive month in which you have not complied with MCLE requirements.
The Missouri Bar will submit a list of lawyers who did not comply with Rule 15 to the Supreme Court of Missouri by March 1, 2024. Those lawyers will be automatically suspended from practicing law and subject to an additional $100 suspension fee.
Visit MoBar.org/MCLE for 2022-23 compliance and reporting information, online tutorial videos, frequently asked questions, accredited programs, and other useful resources. Lawyers can also contact The Missouri Bar MCLE Department at MCLE@MoBar.org or 573-638-2233.