07:00 AM

Three lawyers receive 2021 YLS Chair Awards

Danielle Atchison, Matt DePaz, and David McCain were honored with this year’s Young Lawyers’ Section Chair Awards for their contributions to improving the section and profession. 

Atchison is a business immigration lawyer at Mdivani Corporate Immigration Law Firm and serves as the District 3 representative on the YLS Council. 2020-21 YLS Chair Lauren Collins praised Atchison for her dedication to community service and outreach. 

“She always has fresh ideas on ways YLS can engage the public and brings a level of enthusiasm that encourages other council members to get involved,” Collins said. 

DePaz is a partner at Shook, Hardy & Bacon and serves as the YLS Western Appellate District representative on the YLS Council. He took the lead on amending the section’s bylaws and submitting the proposed changes to the YLS Council. 

“Matt did a phenomenal job keeping us on track and up to date so that YLS was able to send the proposed changes to (The Missouri Bar) Board of Governors for approval,” Collins said. 

McCain is an assistant attorney general with the Office of the Missouri Attorney General and completed his term on the YLS Council in September. Collins complimented McCain’s warm demeanor and how he goes above and beyond to make new lawyers feel welcomed. 

“Even during the pandemic, he found a way to make new admittees feel special by coordinating for members to provide handwritten notes to be included in the new admittee care packages,” Collins said. 

All Missouri lawyers 36 years old or younger or who have been practicing for five years or less are automatically members of the Young Lawyers’ Section. The YLS Council serves as the governing body of the section. 

Click here to learn more about The Missouri Bar’s annual awards.