How do I... Complete my MCLE hours by June 30?
FAQs to help you complete and file your minimum continuing legal education hours
Mark your calendar! Missouri lawyers have until June 30 to complete minimum continuing legal education hours. Below are some frequently asked questions about the process. If you need additional information or have other questions, The Missouri Bar is here to help!
How many CLE hours do I need to complete?
Under Rule 15, lawyers licensed to practice in Missouri must complete a total of 15 CLE hours within the compliance year, between July 1 and June 30 of the following year. Three of the 15 hours must be devoted to ethics topics, and one of the ethics hours must focus on diversity, inclusion, cultural competency, or elimination of bias.
Where can I get CLE credits?
The Missouri Bar has several programs that cover a wide array of topics – including CLE opportunities at the virtual Spring Committee Meetings May 15-19 and the hybrid MOSOLO Small Firm Conference June 8-10. Starting June 3 and running throughout the year, MOBarCLE is also offering CLE Express, a one-day online course that qualifies for all MCLE requirements. If you are early in your career, you may also want to check out The Missouri Bar Young Lawyers’ Section’s new Accelerator Series, with CLE sessions featuring a different program each month organized across four themes.
Visit MoBarCLE.MoBar.org for a full list of in-person, virtual, and self-study programs. You can also receive CLE credit from speaking engagements and writing articles on legal topics that are published in professional journals, like the Journal of The Missouri Bar.
The Missouri Bar sends important emails regarding CLE opportunities and MCLE requirement reminders, so remember to remove email filters on bar communications and have an updated email address on file to avoid missing vital information. If you marked Missouri Bar communications as spam in the past, call 573-638-2233 to ensure you are receiving essential emails.
I completed my MCLE hours. Now what?
Once you have completed your MCLE hours, you must file your annual MCLE report online by July 31 at MoBar.org/MCLEReporting. Reports are automatically submitted upon compliance, and this will be indicated by a green “Compliant” status. You will also receive an auto-generated email confirming compliance for the reporting year. If you are not in compliance and have not filed your annual report, you will see a red “Not Yet Compliant” status.
What do I do if I need more time to complete my MCLE hours or file my report?
If you need additional time to complete your hours or file your annual MCLE report, you can fill out a deficiency plan at MoBar.org/MCLEReporting. You may request deficiency plans beginning July 1, and the plans are only available until July 31.
Lawyers with deficiency plans have until Sept. 30 to obtain the required CLE hours and file their reports.
What happens if I don’t complete my MCLE hours and file my report?
You will be assessed a $200 late fee if you do not have a deficiency plan, have not completed your CLE hours, and have not filed your annual MCLE report by Aug. 31. You will be assessed an additional $50 at the end of each successive month in which you have not complied with your MCLE requirements.
The Missouri Bar will submit a list of lawyers who did not comply with Rule 15 to the Supreme Court of Missouri by March 1, 2024. Those lawyers will be automatically suspended from practicing law and are subject to an additional $100 suspension fee.
Where should I go for more information about my MCLE requirements?